Every year, as soon as I have all my W2s, I file my taxes, usually right around the end of January. I do them online using TurboTax and sign up for direct deposit so I can get my refund sooner rather than later. I like to get my taxes done and out of the way as soon as possible. So I did them two days ago, 1 February. Usually I would get my refund in about a week or under, but not this year. This year my refund won’t be released until the end of February because of a law signed by Obama to screw over poor people by making us go through extra hurdles.

turbotax

Over a year ago, Barry Obama signed the PATH Act, which slows down Earned Income Tax Credit refunds. This negatively impacts millions of people who rely on getting their tax refunds early so they can pay down debt, pay their bills and rent, and buy necessities. Now we have to wait weeks more, potentially causing many of us to lose our homes because we can’t pay our rent on time. That’s the situation I’m in right now.

Stop punishing poor people for being poor.

